JPEC Holds Annual Meeting; Presents Awards to Students; Board Elects Officers

June 28, 2017

Paducah, Ky.—At the Jackson Purchase Energy Corporation (JPEC) annual membership meeting on Tuesday, June 20 at the Luther F. Carson Four Rivers Center in Paducah, President and CEO Dennis Cannon assured members in attendance that the cooperative was sound and reinforced the board, management and employees’ commitment to the Western Kentucky communities they serve.

More than 400 members registered at the evening meeting, which had an overall attendance of approximately 850 people.

During the meeting, members approved business, including minutes and financial reports from 2016, and heard a presentation from Cannon, during which he commended the board of directors and employees of the cooperative for their dedication to providing superior customer service and delivering reliable, affordable, and safe electricity to the utility’s 29,900 members throughout the six-county JPEC service territory.  

Cannon continued his report by reinforcing the co-op’s commitment to the communities it serves, including upcoming solar energy demonstration projects that will be installed in cooperation with JPEC’s wholesale power supplier (Big Rivers Electric Corporation) at Livingston County Middle School, McCracken County High School and Marshall County’s Mike Miller Park.  

Cannon concluded his remarks by noting that the co-op was in sound financial and operational condition and by thanking the members for their support and encouraging them to contact him personally with items of concern or suggestions for improvement.

Following Cannon’s report, Vice Chairman Erick Harris and director Lee Bearden introduced six high school students who each were awarded $1,000 college scholarships by the cooperative.  Recipients, who are required to attend a Kentucky college or university, were:

  • •Alisha Boone, the daughter of Sheryl Boone and a graduate of Marshall County High School
  • •Brycen Flynn, the son of Brian and Jilly Flynn and a graduate of McCracken County High Scho
  • Shelby Locke, the daughter of James and Stacy Locke and a graduate of McCracken County High School
  • Karlee Phillips, the daughter of Charles and Denise Phillips and a graduate of Christian Fellowship School
  • •Natalie Shadrick, the daughter of John and DeeDee Shadrick and a graduate of McCracken County High School
  • Audrie Swain, the daughter of Bobby and Jennifer Swain and a graduate of McCracken County High School

JPEC director Lori Thompson recognized the cooperative’s delegate to the recent Kentucky Rural Electric Washington Youth Tour program – Meghan Walker, the daughter of Steve and Beth Walker and a senior at Ballard Memorial High School.

Walker returned from Washington, DC, on June 9 from the one-week, all-expenses paid trip along with approximately 80 other Kentucky high school students.  During her week in Washington, she learned about the nation’s history, met with Kentucky’s congressional delegation, and learned about how electric cooperatives are a vital part of the nation’s economy and a critical provider of infrastructure to rural America.

Following the annual meeting, the JPEC board met briefly for an annual reorganizational session.  Directors elected the following officers to serve one-year terms:

  • Chairman – Erick Harris of McCracken County
  • •Vice Chairman – Gary L. Joiner of Livingston County
  • •Secretary/Treasurer -- Wayne Elliott of McCracken County

Harris was re-elected to serve as JPEC’s director representative to the Kentucky Association of Electric Cooperatives board of directors alongside Cannon who will serve as JPEC’s management representative

Other JPEC directors are Lee Bearden of Marshall County, Dr. Ivus Crouch of Livingston County, Lori Thompson of Graves County, and William Birney of Ballard County.

JPEC serves approximately 29,900 members in portions of six western Kentucky counties -- Ballard, Carlisle, Graves, Livingston, Marshall, and McCracken.  The co-op is in its 80th year of operations.

Headquarted in Paducah, JPEC is a Touchstone Energy Cooperative, and is a member of a network of more than 900 electric cooperatives nationwide. Additional information about JPEC may be found at 

Jackson Purchase Energy is an equal opportunity provider and employer.
























2017 JPEC scholarship recipients (top row) Audrie Swain, Shelby Locke, Alisha Boone and (bottom row) Natalie Shadrick, Karlee Phillips, Brycen Flynn were recognized at the 2017 JPEC Annual Meeting held on June 20, 2017.





































Meghan Walker is shown during the 2017 Washington Youth Tour, which she attended as the delegate of Jackson Purchase Energy. Walker is the daughter of Steve and Beth Walker and a senior at Ballard Memorial High School.

Background Image